My first step into Open-source

ยท

2 min read

It is a scary world out there.

Just thinking about having to expose my poorly written code to millions of people across the globe and even write about it is enough to make me shut down my computer and call it a day.

However, by taking this leap of faith into the unknown through this very first blog of mine, I'm hoping to overcome my own 'imposter syndrome' and finally start contributing to the community that taught me so much about web development.

First, let me introduce a bit about myself.

I'm Luke Nguyen, a student of Seneca School of Applied Arts and Technology . My journey in programming started in 2019 when I first discovered how to create simple yet beautiful and interactive websites using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Since then, web development has been my main area of focus, and I loved everything about it. Currently, I spend most of my time studying component-driven programming using React and NextJS as well as discovering different ways to style my front-end projects using CSS technologies like Sass or Tailwind.

My goals coming into OSD600 are to understand Git and GitHub and challenge myself to go out of my comfort zone by learning new technologies and working with different developers and communities.

To get started, I have chosen react-recipes because it provides a decent number of commonly used custom hooks with some issues need tackling.

I'm really excited to see what I can do in this new world and hopefully, I can meet a lot of interesting people along the way too!

Thanks for reading everyone,

Happy coding! ๐Ÿ’ป

ย